Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Hello? Hello? Is this thing on?

Ahem. Yes, I’ve been away for a bit. A long bit. But I have some really good excuses. Like… completing my master’s degree and moving across the country. Since my last blog post, Gabe and I celebrated Hanukkah and Christmas, he started a new job, and I set up our new home while actively searching for employment. We spent one night on the floor, one night in a hotel, and seventeen nights on an air mattress in an almost-empty apartment. Uffda.

Once the moving truck with all our worldly possessions finally arrived, I rejoiced at the fact that our apartment looked like this instead of like this. And to celebrate the return of my kitchen and firmly establish Minneapolis as our new city, I made the coziest meal I could think of: creamy tomato basil soup with grilled cheese.

It was warm. It was delicious. We were home.

Creamy tomato basil soup | Lingonberry Jam

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

  • 4 Tbs. unsalted butter
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1 can (28 oz.) whole, peeled tomatoes
  • pinch cayenne
  • 2 oz. neufchâtel cheese
  • 1 Tbs. dried basil (or 3 Tbs. fresh)
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Melt butter in large saucepan over medium heat. Stir in onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft and golden brown, 10-12 minutes. Stir in flour and cook for 1 minute. Slowly whisk in chicken broth, tomatoes, and cayenne, and bring to a boil.

Turn heat down to low and simmer, covered, for 20 minutes. Add cheese and stir until mostly melted (there may still be small chunks). Puree using an immersion blender until smooth and creamy. Stir in basil and add salt and pepper to taste.

Serves 6.

Source: A Lingonberry Jam original

Nutrition facts (per serving): 150 calories, 10.2 g fat, 12.0 g carbs, 1.8 g fiber, 4.6 g protein.

6 thoughts on “Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

  1. Love the bowl… Rawr! Also, I had no idea that this soup had cream cheese in it. Yum. Tomato basil soup reminds me so much of school!

    • The lions on the bowls remind me of school too. :) I added the cream cheese on a whim and really liked how it thickened everything up nicely. I’d put cream cheese in everything if I could…

  2. I would like to point out a discrepancy in your recipe. The text mentions adding “cream cheese” while the ingredient list does mention cheese but it is some strange unfamiliar kind that starts with the letter n and is unpronounceable.
    The Editor
    P.S. Glad to have you down the street.

Join the fun!

