Lemon Curd

Maybe it’s the bitterly cold days and my consequent longing for something sunshiny and bright, but I’m on a citrus kick right now. And it’s resulting in me trying many new things that I wouldn’t have touched even a year ago. I love tart and tangy citrus fruits, but for whatever reason the idea of turning them into pies or cookies or bars has always made me uneasy.

But it’s February and I’m dreaming of tropical islands. First, I made some frozen key lime pies inspired by my friend Chelsea, who unwittingly introduced me to the dessert by bringing it to a dinner party months ago. Not wanting to offend a lovely guest, I reluctantly took a bite. And fell in love.

Next came those citrusy sea salts, which I shipped off to a dear aunt who spends her winters in a place where you can actually pick lemons off trees. Magical, right?

And since I had only used the zest of the lemons and nothing else, I squeezed them tight and turned the juice into lemon curd. Yes, I was skeptical. Yes, I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, my college roommate who adores lemon bars should be proud. No, I haven’t tried lemon bars yet.

Baby steps.

Lemon Curd | Lingonberry Jam

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Lemon Curd

  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 eggs
  • pinch of salt
  • 6 Tbs. unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes

In a small saucepan, whisk together lemon juice, sugar, egg yolks, eggs, and salt. Place saucepan over low heat and add butter. Whisk constantly until butter is melted and mixture is smooth. Increase heat to medium-low and stir constantly until the curd thickens and becomes jelly-like. (I use a rubber spatula to make sure I get into all the nooks and crannies of the pan.) Check the thickness of the curd by lifting some up with the spatula and dropping it back in the saucepan; if it holds its shape rather than being reabsorbed right away, it’s thick enough.

Press the mixture through a wire mesh strainer over a small bowl. Let cool and refrigerate. Use within 2 weeks.

Makes 1 cup.

Source: David Lebovitz.

Nutrition facts (per 1 Tbs.): 80 calories, 5.5 g fat, 7.0 g carbs, 0.0 g fiber, 1.2 g protein.

4 thoughts on “Lemon Curd

Join the fun!

