Perfect Pot Roast

Three of Gabe’s college friends are visiting us this weekend, so I tried hard to come up with a homey yet impressive dinner menu.  I first planned on serving beef tenderloin, until I discovered the price tag of $16/pound.  We’re grad students.  Not happening.

In desperation, I grabbed a pot roast from the grocery store and set out to make my first roast.  (Most people don’t recommend trying new recipes the day of your dinner party, but I like to walk on the wild side.)  After perusing several different roast recipes, I combined and tweaked and improvised to come up with my very own.

I also called my mom for gravy tips.  There are some things you just can’t learn from a cookbook.

I’m happy to report that my roast was a rousing success!  A melt-in-your-mouth, smells-like-home, makes-people-grin success.  The meat was so tender it fell apart when I tried to slice it.  I’d share a picture, but the meat was gone before I had a chance to grab my camera!

(Also for dinner, Carol Lehrke’s strawberry salad and Barefoot Contessa’s mustard roasted potatoes, made with dijon rather than whole grain mustard.  Yum…)

Perfect Pot Roast

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 5 lb. pot roast
  • 3 Tbs cooking oil
  • 2 1/2 cups beef broth
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • dried thyme, rosemary, and oregano
  • ground nutmeg
  • 3-4 Tbs. flour
  • milk (to taste)

Mix together flour, salt, and pepper and rub over the roast.  Heat cooking oil in large pot over medium high heat and sear roast, 3-4 minutes on each side.

Spread chopped onion, garlic, and bay leaves in the bottom of a roasting pan.  Place seared roast on top of the onion mixture and pour 2 cups of beef broth on top.  Sprinkle as desired with thyme, rosemary, oregano, and nutmeg.

Roast at 315° F for about four hours, or until internal temperature reaches 160 degrees F.  Take roast out and let stand on cutting board for 15-20 minutes.  Make gravy out of drippings in pan, whisking in flour and milk until the sauce is the right consistency. Add last 1/2 cup of beef broth if necessary.  Serve roast sliced, with gravy.

Source: Lingonberry Jam original

Printer-friendly version

Join the fun!

