Progressivism and Pajamas

Thanks to my bizarre block schedule, I do most of my graduate coursework from home.  This is both a blessing and a curse, since I find myself easily distracted by dirty dishes in the sink or an unmade bed (therefore convincing myself that I can do absolutely NO homework until the place is COMPLETELY clean).  Yes, that’s right, I put off homework with housework.

This means I have days where I learn about Wilsonian progressivism as advocated by medieval historians, clean the apartment, write a paper reviewing the accessibility of museum websites, and then make sandwich buns and homemade granola.

But it also means I get to drink coffee and study in my PJ’s.  Awesome.

Good morning!

Grandma’s Granola

This recipe can still be found on a tiny, faded piece of paper in my mom’s recipe box, carefully written in my grandma’s handwriting.  I make a batch every 2 weeks and eat it for breakfast each morning.  I’ve modified it according to my tastes (i.e. less sugar and more coconut!), but the basics are still the same.

  • 4 cups oats
  • 2 cups wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar  (or 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup honey)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 2 Tbs. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup pecans
  • 1/2 cup craisins

Heat oven to 300° F.  Combine everything but the pecans and craisins in a mixing bowl.  Spread onto a rimmed baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes, stirring once halfway through and adding pecans during last five minutes of baking.  After removing granola from oven, stir in craisins and let cool.  Store in an airtight container.

Source: Grandma Norma

Printer-friendly version

6 thoughts on “Progressivism and Pajamas

  1. Personally I like the AWESOME pink plaque in the background. I bet someone really cool with a birthday soon got it for you… ;)

  2. Pingback: Cherry-Maple Granola |

Join the fun!

