Affirmations

This may be a grainy, underexposed iPhone photo, but I wanted to capture how it feels coming home around 10:30 from my night classes.  (Despite what the picture may convey, it doesn’t feel like entering a haunted house.)

My classes are over at 9:00 or 9:30 PM, depending on the evening.  Then I have a long, tiring ride home on one bus and two different trains.  I always feel exhausted, but then I near our apartment and see a cozy light shining from the windows.  And I smile and think about everything I learned that evening– and how excited I am to start my career– and by the time I’ve taken the stairs two-at-a-time and burst through the front door, I’m bubbling over with excitement.  Poor Gabe, weary from law school, tries to keep at least one eye open as I jibber jabber about collections management and ethics and historical accuracy.

I generally have to calm myself down before I can even think about hitting the pillows and falling asleep.

That’s how I know I’m doing something I love.

Home sweet home

One thought on “Affirmations

  1. Actually, it looks like one of those romantic movie sets…where the heroine rushes up the stairs to her love! :-) Glad that you live in a safe neighborhood at that hour….

Join the fun!

