Back to Basics

My two favorite kinds of ice cream are cookies ‘n’ cream and mint chocolate chip.  My very first ice cream making venture this summer resulted in cookies ‘n’ cream ice cream, and since then I’ve made the following flavors:

  • seven layer bar
  • cookie dough
  • oatmeal chocolate chip cookie
  • cookie dough/heath bar
  • heath bar/snickers/chocolate covered pretzel
  • vanilla frozen yogurt
  • raspberry sorbet

All that, and I still hadn’t made one of my favorites!  What a travesty.  I bet you know what’s coming next…

The first step of making the ice cream involved whisking a bunch of egg yolks together while heating milk and sugar in a saucepan.  Then I tempered the batter by very carefully pouring the hot milk into the egg yolks.

Next, I heated the egg/milk mixture on the stove until it reached 160-170 degrees.  The tricky part is getting the custard to form the right consistency.

This definitely took some practice!

Next I poured the custard through a strainer into some cold cream.  (I actually used milk because I couldn’t find any lactose-free cream.  Plus it’s healthier!)

I prefer using a sieve to make ice cream rather than to scoop bugs out of the kiddie pool.

After letting the batter cool in the fridge for 8 hours, it was mixing time!

I half-expected to light up like a neon sign after eating this bright batter!

I stirred in a boatload of mini chocolate chips and let the ice cream “ripen” in the freezer for several hours.  Then it was time to taste-test!

Mmmmmmm…

Already my mind is wandering… should I turn some of this into ice cream sandwiches?  Or ice cream cake?  Or just eat it all in one sitting?

Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

  • 3 cups whole milk or half ‘n’ half
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 5 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract
  • 5-6 drops green food coloring
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips

Heat 2 cups of milk, salt, and sugar in a saucepan. Pour remaining 1 cup milk into a large bowl and set a wire mesh strainer on top.

In a separate bowl, stir together the egg yolks. Gradually pour some of the warm milk into the yolks, whisking constantly as you pour. Scrape the warmed yolks and milk back into the saucepan.

Cook over low heat, stirring constantly and scraping the bottom with a heat-resistant spatula, until the custard thickens enough to coat the spatula.

Immediately strain the custard into the remaining cup of milk. Place bowl into an ice bath and stir until cool. Add the peppermint extract and food coloring. Refrigerate at least 8 hours.

Freeze the custard in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Stir in chocolate chips.

Source: Adapted from David Lebovitz

3 thoughts on “Back to Basics

Join the fun!

