See Food, Eat Food

Mariah, Grant, and I had dinner on Friday night with Mariah’s college friend, Tom.  He took us to a restaurant where he used to work and we enjoyed a delicious meal of fresh seafood.

The thing about seafood is that I generally find it tasty, but I’m a bit intimidated by its natural packaging.  I hate peeling and de-veining raw shrimp, and getting mussels out of their shells totally freaks me out.  Give me a skinned, boned fish fillet, and I can make a decent meal.  But there’s no way I’d ever crack open a crab leg or lobster claw.  Gross.

Despite my prejudices, on Friday night I experienced a first in a lifetime of eating seafood: raw oysters.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I picked up half an oyster shell, slurped the meat up, and swallowed it whole.  It tasted pretty salty and sort of like a pickle.  While it’s not a new favorite, I was definitely glad I had done it.

Plus, I felt super brave, even as I sat across the table from Mariah and Grant and watched the Minnesotans gleefully break apart and chow down a whole lobster.  I wasn’t gonna get near that thing.

"I'll get you, my pretty!"

P.S. There’s a short video of me eating the oyster, but I’d have to pay a lot of money to be able to post videos on my blog.  Just imagine me freaking out a lot and then exclaiming: “Oh, I survived!”

One thought on “See Food, Eat Food

  1. I will gladly tackle a lobster; would NOT be interested in tackling an oyster — unless I had a LOT of liquor in me first! :-0

Join the fun!

