Don’t Hate Me But…

I bought a bag of McIntosh apples on Wednesday, and while the flavor was delicious, the texture was a bit mealy for my liking.  What should I do?

Yeah, I should probably betray my baby sister.

Sorry, kiddo

Pretty apples

The leftovers

Just like chicken soup, you gotta cook the bejeezus out of these apples...

...Until they look like this

Yum!

I promise I made enough to save some in the freezer!

Applesauce

  • 12 McIntosh apples
  • 2 cups water
  • 3 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg

Peel, core, and coarsely chop apples.  Place in a saucepan and cover with water.  Stir in brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

Simmer, covered, on low heat for 20 minutes.  Remove lid and cook on low for 15 more minutes, or until enough liquid has evaporated and the applesauce is the desired consistency.

Whisk to remove chunks, or puree in a blender for very smooth applesauce.  Serve warm or chilled.

Source: A Lingonberry Jam original
7 thoughts on “Don’t Hate Me But…

  1. Uh oh. Who was throwing partially-eaten apples into the woods? ;-) I’ve never cared for McIntosh apples — couldn’t get past the texture. I just got some Honey Crisp ones. LOVE ’em & it makes me think of the apple orchard near St. Olaf. :-)

    • Haha. I was thinking about Alex when I was coring the apples, since she always eats them practically down to the seeds. I suppose if I wanted healthier applesauce, I would’ve used the peels too…

      I miss fireside this time of year! Especially their amazing cider… sigh.

  2. Pingback: Spring Break Recipe Round-up | Lingonberry Jam

Join the fun!

