The Calm Before the Storm

Knowing that next week is going to be a wee bit busy, I decided to devote time this past weekend to some low-key cooking.  The goal: make enough food so we can have home-cooked meals all week while ensuring that I can still spend the majority of my time at my desk doing research.  (Oh end of the semester, how did you sneak up on me?)

I know a lot of people love their crockpots for low-maintenance cooking, but I am very particular about how many appliances I own, due to limited storage space.  (My espresso machine and KitchenAid mixer are the clear winners here.  Gabe even had to convince me that we needed a blender.)  Plus there’s a teensy part of me that feels like I’m not old enough to own a crockpot yet.  There, I said it.

Luckily, I do own a roasting pan!  What could be easier than pulled beef?  I’m not a huge fan of barbecue sauce (shhh… don’t tell) so I cooked this roast with a homemade Italian-style marinade.

My carnivorous baby sister should appreciate this photo

Three pounds of beef should give us a fair number of lunches and suppers without taking up precious fridge space as Thanksgiving nears.  Now that’s what I call low-maintenance food!

Sandwich love

Italian Pulled Beef

  • 1 1/3 cups olive oil
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1 Tbs. oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp. thyme
  • 1/2 tsp. basil
  • 1 1/2 tsp. parsley
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1 Tbs. minced dried onion
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 3 lb. beef roast
  • 1 cup beef stock (optional)

In large bowl, whisk together olive oil, vinegar, water, and mustard.  Stir in remaining ingredients, except for roast and stock, and whisk well.  Let the marinade sit overnight so the flavors can mingle.

Place roast in bowl with marinade, cover, and refrigerate for 2 additional hours.

Arrange meat and marinade in roasting pan.  Cover and bake at 200-225 degrees F for 3 1/2 to 4 hours.  Shred beef with two forks, add 1 cup of beef stock if necessary, and bake another 30-60 minutes.  Serve on hamburger buns.

Source: A Lingonberry Jam original

Printer-friendly version

6 thoughts on “The Calm Before the Storm

  1. Pingback: Fixer-Uppers and Fire Escapes | Lingonberry Jam

Join the fun!

