Sweet ‘n’ Salty

Last week was filled with savory Thanksgiving dishes, so it seems only fitting that I’ve spent most of this week making sweets.  (And writing papers… don’t worry, Mom.)  Besides lingering leftovers, there’s no longer any “real” food in the apartment.

I’m okay with that.

First came amazingly delicious caramel corn.  This recipe (see below) made a whopping 32 cups!

Next came “pretzel hugs.”  These were really easy to make, plus they remind me of my college roommate Jackie and her awesome chocolate-covered pretzel rods.

(I also thought of Jackie because she would’ve made fun of me for accidentally dumping pretzels all over the floor.)

Last but not least, I received a lovely package of double chocolate scones from my momma.  Whenever people ask me how I learned to bake, it’s a two word answer: my mom!

Now it’s back to writing papers as I finish up my first semester of grad school.  But in typical Krista fashion, I’ve got a batch of ice cream batter chilling in the fridge, just waiting to be churned.

Caramel Corn

  • 1 cup popcorn kernels, unpopped
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • ½ cup light corn syrup
  • 2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Pop popcorn using your preferred method. (The stovetop works fine for me.) Place the popped popcorn in a very large bowl(s). Make sure there is enough room in your bowls for tossing the popcorn.

Preheat the oven to 250° F. Meanwhile, to make the caramel, melt the butter in a 2-quart saucepan set over medium heat. Once the butter is melted, mix in the corn syrup, brown sugar and salt. Increase the heat to medium-high and bring the mixture to a boil, stirring frequently.

Once the mixture reaches a boil, let the mixture continue to boil for 5 more minutes without stirring. Remove the mixture from the heat and stir in the baking soda and vanilla. The mixture will bubble up and become frothy. Pour the caramel sauce over the popcorn in the bowl(s) and toss to coat thoroughly.

Spread the popcorn evenly onto two large baking sheets lined with parchment paper. (It’s okay if there are some clumps of caramel throughout; it will melt while baking.) Bake for 50-55 minutes, removing from the oven to toss/stir every 10 minutes. After 40 minutes, test a cooled piece of popcorn. If it is not completely crispy (i.e. still slightly mushy when you bite it), bake for 10-15 minutes more.

Remove the baking sheets to a wire rack and allow popcorn to cool completely before breaking apart for serving or packaging.

Source: Christie’s Corner via Annie’s Eats

One thought on “Sweet ‘n’ Salty

  1. I wondered why there was only one bag of scones for me… The caramel corn and those pretzel hugs look delicious!

Join the fun!

