Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits

A new semester starts tomorrow! And daylight is suddenly lingering past 4:00 P.M.! And I finally cleaned out the freezer! And this morning I made jam!

I had just finished canning four lovely little jars of strawberry jam when I realized that I needed something to spread it on. (I gag at the sight of a PB&J, so that was out of the question.) After about 30 seconds or so, I dreamed up the perfect (and obvious) vessel for those warm, gooey, sweet strawberries. Biscuits.

I used to think that I disliked biscuits, but I grudgingly let my sister make a batch for Christmas dinner this year. And when they came out of the oven, golden brown and smelling like “Little House on the Prairie” (sort of homey and rustic), I became a biscuit convert.

These little babies have an added bonus: they’re really not bad for you! Whole wheat flour adds fiber and protein, and they clock in at about 100 calories each. Sweet. (And with the addition of jam, super sweet.)

Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits

  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 3/4 cup (minus 2 tsp.) milk*
  • 2 tsp. vinegar

Preheat oven to 450° F. Place 2 tsp. vinegar in a glass measuring cup and fill up to the 3/4 cup line with milk. Let sit for 5 minutes.

In large bowl, stir together flours, salt, baking powder, and soda. Using a pastry blender or two knives, cut in shortening until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in milk mixture just until a soft dough forms.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 1-2 minutes, just until smooth. Roll out dough with a rolling pin until it’s 1/2 inch thick.  Using a 2-inch biscuit cutter, cut out rounds and arrange on an ungreased cookie sheet about 1 inch apart.

Bake until golden, 8-12 minutes.

Makes 18 biscuits.

Source: Slightly adapted from The Good Housekeeping Cookbook.

* You can also use 3/4 cup buttermilk instead of the milk and vinegar, but I don’t usually have buttermilk on hand. (Plus, this method allows me to use lactose-free milk.)

4 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. Would you stop it, please?! I love biscuits and jam! You are going to have a long list of things to make when I’m there…

  2. I shall force-feed you delicious foods until you learn to like them! Are the buttermilk ones sweeter? I think I just made the plain variety at Christmas. The jam looks beautiful!

    • Hmm, I don’t think they were that much sweeter. They did taste a little bit nuttier thanks to the whole wheat flour. And you can certainly force-feed me delicious foods, but I draw the line at donuts. And ketchup. Yuck.

Join the fun!

