Asian Noodle Salad

Now that another semester of grad school (for me) and law school (for the BF) have started, I’ve been thinking a lot about portable food. Simple, healthy, and delicious meals we can pack in our lunches. (Or suppers, for those of us with night classes…)

Salads came to mind right away. And then I started daydreaming about the amazing salads at an adorable little cafe in my hometown. Head chef Jennifer makes the most delicious sesame noodle salad that includes whole grains, protein, and good fats. I have no idea what her recipe is, but this one tastes just as delicious. Enjoy!

P.S. I’ve been growing those green onions in a glass of water in my kitchen. They used to be only an inch tall, but look at them now! Maybe I don’t have a “black thumb” after all!

Asian Noodle Salad

  • 6 oz. fresh (or 10 oz. dry) whole wheat spaghetti
  • 3 Tbs. soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. toasted sesame oil
  • 1 Tbs. peanut butter
  • 2 tsp. tahini
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1/2 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1-2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1 tsp. dried cilantro
  • 2 Tbs. sesame seeds

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and rinse in cold water until noodles are chilled.

In medium bowl, whisk together soy sauce, vinegar, sesame oil, peanut butter, tahini, garlic, ginger, and sugar until ingredients are well incorporated. Add cold noodles, peas, pepper, green onions, almonds, and cilantro, and toss.

Chill in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes. Toss with sesame seeds before serving.

Source: Adapted from Once Upon a Chef.

3 thoughts on “Asian Noodle Salad

  1. I’m having a marvelous time w/your mom & reading your blog!
    Love, Grandma

    PS. Quick question from your mom: why do I suddenly see a “YouTube” ad at the bottom of your blog? :-/

    • Thanks, Grandma! Enjoy the sunshine! :)

      And Mom, I have no idea why you see an ad at the bottom of the blog. I don’t see one, and neither does Gabe…?

      • Wierd! I just logged on again..and there’s another YouTube video ad…I’m using Grandma’s computer; maybe that’s it… :-/

Join the fun!

