Homemade Pasta

When Gabe and I lived in Madison, one of the few luxuries we spent money on was fresh pasta. We’d stand next to the case of RP’s Pasta in the grocery store, debating whether or not to buy fresh linguine while cheaper boxes of the dried stuff beckoned from across the store. In the end, we always decided that fresh was worth it.

Since moving to Boston, I’ve started to venture into the world of homemade pasta. Believe it or not, it’s really easy! Now we enjoy fresh pasta all the time– even on grad student budgets!

Here’s a quick pictutorial.

You don’t really need any fancy tools to make pasta. I’ve made pounds and pounds of fettucine with just a rolling pin and sharp knife. (It’s a great arm workout!) But even the coolest of knives can’t do this:

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why I am in love with my new pasta maker attachment. (So in love with it that I made 88 oz. of pasta in two days. I think we’re set for life.)

Homemade Pasta

  • 5 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for sprinkling (additionally you can use 3 cups all-purpose flour and 2 cups white whole wheat flour)
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2- 3/4 cup warm water

Pour flour on a smooth working surface, make a well in the center, and sprinkle with the salt. Drop the eggs in the well, break the yolks with your fingers, and stir a bit. Mix the flour and eggs together until they form a rough cornmeal texture. Gradually mix in water, using as much as necessary to form a smooth, pliable dough.

Knead the dough for about 10 minutes until it is shiny and smooth. Form it into a ball, pat the top with some water, and cover with an inverted bowl for half an hour.

To shape, either run the dough through a pasta maker, or follow next steps:

Divide the dough in half, keeping the remainder covered. Roll the dough into a large rectangle, about 1/8 inch thick, and liberally sprinkle it with extra all-purpose flour. Carefully roll the dough up, jelly-roll style, and slice into strips 1/4 inch wide (or as desired).  Sprinkle more flour on the cut pieces and gently pull them apart so the noodles loosen and open to form long strands.

To cook: bring 2 quarts of water to a rolling boil. Add pasta and cook, stirring occasionally, for 4-5 minutes or until al dente.

Makes approximately 32 ounces. Serves 8-10.

Source: Slightly adapted from The North End Italian Cookbook.

14 thoughts on “Homemade Pasta

  1. Last evening I made a chicken curry dish, jasmine rice, asparagus and creme brùlèe. By the end of plating dinner and torching my lavander vanila bean sugar, I wanted to take photos but realized there is nothing to “do” with them. Your blog is realy enhanced with your photos. Great work!

    Fresh pasta may be in my near future. I remember sitting on a stool for hours watching my grandma make noodles and then chicken noodle soup. Great memory. Thanks! Your blog is quite enjoyable Krista!!! Hugs!

    • Wow, I wish I was in your house last night! That sounds amazing. I’ve been wanting to make creme brûlée for a long time, but I really don’t want to buy another kitchen gadget. Do you own a torch, or do you use the broiler method? (And where the heck do you get lavender vanilla bean sugar?)

      • I use a torch!
        I found the sugar in Boulder, CO this summer. They have a web site: http://www.savoryspiceshop.com
        It was a haven walking through, tasting and buying. I tried a number of Indian spices then as well.
        Now to buy mini muffin tins (remember, I don’t bake), cuz I’m making the rangoon soon. I have crab from the last time we made it at home, and I froze some extra to make crab alfredo (I have a “healthy” version of alfredo). I think there is enough for both though! Thanks girlie!!

        • Ooh, that spice store looks really cool. I bet lavender vanilla bean sugar smells amazing. Enjoy the crab rangoon! I got the mini muffin tins from my mom’s pantry– just helping her get rid of things! :)

  2. And to think I always thought pasta was fresh when it came out of the boiling water…..another misconception dashed.

    • Surprise! The texture and taste of fresh pasta is really amazing. Thanks for the pasta maker– as you can see I’m getting some use out of it!

  3. Pingback: Oles and Cannolis | Lingonberry Jam

  4. Pingback: Spring Break Recipe Round-up | Lingonberry Jam

  5. Pingback: Homemade Cheese Tortellini | Lingonberry Jam

  6. Pingback: Homemade Mayonnaise | Lingonberry Jam

  7. Pingback: Paglia e Fieno | Lingonberry Jam

  8. Pingback: Butternut Squash Tortellini in Garlic-Sage Broth | Lingonberry Jam

Join the fun!

