Tuscan White Bean Salad

When I lived in Washington, D.C. my biggest kitchen challenge was learning how to cook for one. My stomach still turns at the thought of a particular ramen noodle salad that I loved on day one but hated on day fourteen. (I also learned that being frugal did not require buying 80% lean beef. Especially when the thought of eating all that fat grossed me out so much it ended up in the trash anyway.)

Anyway… you’d think that by now I would have learned how to pare down portion sizes. But you’d be wrong.

This Tuscan white bean salad is delicious, but it makes a ton. Perfect for a potluck, but not so great for just the two of us. Next time, I’ll reduce the proportions, or plan to serve it at a party instead. Live and learn!

Tuscan White Bean Salad

Vinaigrette

  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tsp. oregano
  • 1 tsp. dijon mustard

Salad

  • 1 Tbs. butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cans (14 oz. each) navy beans, drained and rinsed
  • 8 oz. fresh mozzarella cheese, cubed
  • 10 oz. fresh (or 6 oz. dry) whole wheat pasta, cooked and drained
  • 1/2 cup kalamata olives, pitted and sliced in half
  • 5 oz. frozen chopped spinach, thawed and patted dry (or two cups fresh spinach)
  • 3 oz. sundried tomatoes, sliced (not packed in oil)
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Whisk vinaigrette in a large bowl. Set aside.

Melt butter in small saucepan over medium heat. Stir in onion and cook until tender, 5-8 minutes.

Add onion, beans, cheese, pasta, olives, spinach, and tomatoes to large bowl with vinaigrette. Stir until well combined. Add salt and pepper, to taste.

Source: Adapted from Sara Foster via Epicurious

4 thoughts on “Tuscan White Bean Salad

  1. Learning how to halve a recipe is one of the most important skills I have learned. I’d still be eating ten popovers myself if I hadn’t!

  2. That salad looks yummy! When are you going to make the tuna salad that they featured? That was my favorite…. :-)

Join the fun!

