Homemade Coffee Syrups

As you may have been able to tell by the infrequency of my postings, things have been a bit hectic around here. Finals are quickly approaching, and I’m kicking myself for the oh-so-wise decision to load up on classes and graduate a semester early. (I’m sure the decision will eventually pay off, but still…)

On top of school stress, Gabe and I are still dealing with a mouse problem. I thought this week’s 80° weather would coax those critters back outside, but apparently they love our apartment. (And why not? We’ve made it a cozy home.)

Needless to say, our general busyness means that meals this week have mostly revolved around take-out food and leftovers. (And surprisingly tasty precooked cajun chicken sausages.) But even when we’re too busy to cook, the one thing Gabe and I will take the time to lovingly prepare is coffee.

I love making my own lattes. Not only are homemade coffees much cheaper than store-bought, I love the ritual of measuring ground espresso, tamping it in the portafilter, pulling an espresso shot, and steaming the milk. Nice hot weather doesn’t stop Krista’s Latte Shop; I just transition to iced lattes.

Making coffee syrups is incredibly easy. Basically you make a simple syrup and then add your flavoring as desired. Make them as strong or as weak as you want. I tend to make them strong, so a little goes a long way. Now that I’ve had my coffee, I can take on the day!

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

 Homemade Coffee Syrups

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • extracts or oils, to taste*

Combine sugar and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Stir constantly, boiling for five minutes. Remove from heat, add extract to taste, and cool. Store in refrigerator.

* Sample amounts:

  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract OR 1 tsp. vanilla extract and one split vanilla bean
  • 1 tsp. peppermint extract
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 2-3 Tbs. hazelnut oil

Source: Common knowledge :)

8 thoughts on “Homemade Coffee Syrups

  1. Wow. You really HAVE gone over to “the Dark Side,” haven’t you? ;-) Hard to believe that just a few short years ago you didn’t even drink coffee…. Guess I’ll just have to remain the family hold-out. :-) (They do LOOK pretty, though.)

Join the fun!

