White Cheddar Cheez-its

Classes are done! Classes are done! Classes are done!

Oh. Hello, finals.

My schedule isn’t that bad; I only have two papers left to write and an exhibition to install. But poor Gabe has a few unpleasant weeks ahead of him. I decided to make both our lives easier by spending today making snacks for us to munch on as we finish the semester.

Enter homemade cheez-its. (Please, don’t laugh.) These little guys taste surprisingly like the commercial ones but way better. They are seriously delicious. Gabe broke down laughing when I told him what I was making this morning, but he quickly came around. (Anything with cheese will do that.)

Since I really enjoy making things from scratch that are easily purchased in the grocery store, I want you all to challenge me. What crazy thing should I try to make next? Leave a comment and I’ll choose my favorite challenge.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

White Cheddar Cheez-its

  • 6 oz. white cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 4 Tbs. unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt, plus more for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 350° F. Combine all ingredients in a food processor, or grate butter over a bowl and combine with other ingredients using a pastry blender. Knead dough until it forms a ball.

Roll dough onto a floured surface until 1/8 inch thick. Cut into shapes using a pastry wheel or cookie cutters. Transfer to a cookie sheet, sprinkle with additional sea salt, and poke holes in dough with a fork or skewer.

Bake for 8-12 minutes (depending on size of crackers), or until edges are lightly browned. Transfer to a cooling rack. Store in airtight container.

Makes about 160 crackers.

Source: Slightly adapted from Smitten Kitchen via Cooking ala Mel.

Nutrition facts (per 10 crackers): 87 calories, 6.5 g fat (4.1 sat), 4.2 g carbs, 0.7 g fiber, 3.4 g protein.

9 thoughts on “White Cheddar Cheez-its

  1. Send ME some!! White Cheddar Cheezits are my favorite! And plus, I’m nearing the end of the semester and need something to munch on, too!

  2. Those look much better than the commercial ones! I love cheese, but hate products made with cheese flavored stuff. I think these could convert me!!!

  3. How about learning how to make microwave oven dinners from scratch? You know….arrive home from work and eating dinner 90 seconds later?

Join the fun!

