Coconut Pecan Frosting

My birthday always seems to fall smack in the middle of the busiest time of the school year, and this year was no different. Since I had just made a bunch of cupcakes for Gabe’s birthday and was heading out of town soon, there was no reason to bake even more cake for my own.

Until Wednesday night. Gabe surprised me when I came home from the first day of my internship with a delicious dinner and belated birthday cupcakes. And they were my favorite: German chocolate.

I’m not a huge frosting fan, but I could eat this stuff with a spoon. (And I do…) It’s the perfect mixture of sweetness, creaminess, and nuttiness. Since Gabe is lactose-intolerant and it’s a bit of a time crunch to make homemade lactose-free evaporated milk, he substituted coconut milk. It worked perfectly, adding another layer of coconut flavor.

I’m also enamored with the adorable cupcake liners my friend Erin sent for my birthday. Aren’t they just the cutest?

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Coconut Pecan Frosting

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • ½ cup butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 1/3 cup flaked coconut
  • 1 cup chopped pecans

In saucepan, combine sugar, coconut milk, and eggs. Add butter. Cook over medium heat until mixture thickens and just begins to boil, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Stir in remaining ingredients. Cool until of spreading consistency.

Makes 3 ½ cups.

Source: Adapted from Wilton.

Nutrition facts (per 2 Tbs.): 110 calories, 8.3 g fat (3.6 sat), 8.6 g carbs, 0.8 g fiber, 1.4 g protein.

5 thoughts on “Coconut Pecan Frosting

  1. I think “Gabe” is the perfect FIRST ingredient to these fabulous cupcakes and frosting! Yummy! (PS this is one of Scotts favorite desserts as well…he has it on his birthday every year)

Join the fun!

