Pannekoeken

Every once in a while (okay, more often than that…) my little sisters will teach me something I don’t already know. Like the biological concept of organ reserve. Or how to make Guinness palatable.

Sometimes they even teach me new recipes.

Pannekoeken is a traditional Dutch pancake, light and puffy and delicious. It essentially looks and tastes like a ginormous popover. Some people top it with apples or bacon. Some (like my baby sister) enjoy it with maple syrup. I’m a plain sort of girl. The salty butter, rich eggs, and sweet ‘n’ spicy cinnamon are enough for me.

My sisters traditionally make this meal in a glass pie plate, but my friend Rachel’s family uses a cast iron skillet. I decided to try it their way, and it turned out beautifully. I guess sometimes I can teach my sisters something new as well!

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Pannekoeken

  • 2 Tbs. salted butter
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • cinnamon

Preheat oven to 450° F. Place butter in a pie plate or cast iron skillet and put dish in oven to melt butter.

Mix together flour, milk, eggs, and vanilla. Once butter is melted, remove dish from oven, pour egg mixture into the dish, and sprinkle with cinnamon.

Bake for 18 minutes, or until puffy and lightly browned.

Serves 4.

Source: Traditional.

Nutrition facts (per serving): 160 calories, 9.0 g fat, 13.5 g carbs, 0.4 g fiber, 5.8 g protein.

4 thoughts on “Pannekoeken

  1. Mmm, that looks tasty! Have you actually tried the Guinness thing yet? It’s a fabulous and sneaky way to appear way cooler than you actually are… ;-)

Join the fun!

