Margarita Mix

We finally got semi-settled into our new apartment and Gabe decided this would be a good time to head home to L.A. for five weeks. Okay, fine, he has a good excuse. (An awesome summer job in the legal department of Legendary Pictures.)

But I’m still sad. It’s a good thing I have Netta’s cat to keep me company for the rest of the summer. As a side note, she’s currently throwing herself at the couch and hoping she’ll stick. Should I tell her that it’s a sofa, not a velcro wall?

Anyway, after saying a tearful goodbye at the airport, I came home to do fun things like reorganize the spice drawer and hang art on the walls. And eat popcorn and drink homemade margaritas.

I think that counts as a balanced meal… both fruit and whole grains, right?

And now, since it’s already 85° at only 10:00 in the morning, I’m thinking I have impeccable recipe timing. Viva las margaritas!

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Margarita Mix

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup fresh-squeezed lime juice (4-5 limes)

Heat water and sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat, stirring until sugar is dissolved and mixture is clear. Let cool.

Stir lime juice into sugar mixture. Margarita mix will keep in the refrigerator for 7-10 days.

For each margarita, combine 2 oz. margarita mix, 2 oz. tequila, and 1 oz. triple sec in a cocktail shaker. Shake well and strain into a salt-rimmed glass over ice.

To make a pitcher, combine entire batch of margarita mix with 2 cups tequila and 1 cup triple sec.

Source: Confections of a Foodie Bride via Tide and Thyme

Nutrition facts (per serving): 290 calories, 0 g fat, 26 g carbs, 0.1 g fiber, 0 g protein.

6 thoughts on “Margarita Mix

  1. You should read today’s Parade magazine. A very fun article on “The Secret Life of Pets.” Of course, my favorite was “why do dogs sniff around so much before deciding where to pee?” Apparently, “It’s like a news feed; your dog is just taking his time to read everything that happened before he got there.” Or, to quote Erin, “Chloe’s just reading the Poo-York Times!” My take? The darned dog needs to “read”
    faster!!! ;-)

    • Hahahaha, that’s great. Tilly just decided to step onto the keyboard of my computer while it was on my lap, creating all sorts of interesting search terms and almost installing some updates for me. Thanks, kitty! ;)

  2. Not to nitpick, but your Spanish grammar could use some tweaking. ;-) Also, how many ounces of tequila do you use to make a pitcher? This looks easy enough for me to try to make solo. (I’ve also acquired the necessary ingredients to make tartlets today!)

    • Ha. I KNEW you were gonna get me for that! I no espeaka espanish. Just realized that I listed 3/4 oz. tequila instead of 3/4 cup. Fixed now! Although I’m thinking I would probably use more booze based on the ratio for the individual margaritas. (Maybe 1.5 cups tequila and 3/4 cup triple sec.) Wanna experiment and let me know what you come up with?

Join the fun!

