Soufflops

Holy schmoly, it’s been a whole month since I’ve posted. Uffda. First there was Hawaii, then the Cape, then the end of my internship, then the start of a new semester. My cooking this month has basically revolved around sandwiches and sausages. And one happy batch of popovers.

Last night I decided to get myself back into cooking mode– something I’ve desperately missed– by trying my hand at chocolate soufflés. I understand the basic principles of soufflé-making and have used the techniques in other recipes before, like molten chocolate cakes. Nothing was terribly new or frightening.

But last night was a bust. I turned away from my mixer for one second and looked back to find clumpy, overbeaten egg whites. Being stubborn (or curious?) I decided to forge ahead, knowing in my heart of hearts that the soufflés wouldn’t rise but hoping I could prove the laws of physics wrong.

Nope. Physics won. And while the dessert still tasted okay, it didn’t have the airy texture or dramatic puff intrinsic to a true soufflé. Sufficiently humbled, I sighed and vowed to try again someday.

Luckily I’m resilient (or naive) enough that experiences like this don’t dissuade me from kitchen challenges for long. Besides I just saw a recipe in Food Network Magazine for homemade candy corn. Bring it on.

6 thoughts on “Soufflops

  1. Hells yeah! Halloween present fo’ me! Also, I was just about to poke you about updating. Having a life outside the internet is no excuse!

  2. I, too, am glad to have another posting from you! I’ve missed them! And remember, *I* will undoubtedly be checking the mail so can “intercept” (aka, eat!) any edible gifts for Brynna. Maybe THIS will get her to check the mail once-in-a-while… ;-)

  3. Pingback: Homemade Candy Corn | Lingonberry Jam

Join the fun!

