Thanksgiving Dinner Prep

It’s T minus two days until Turkey Day! I’m looking forward to having nine lovely people in my home for the holiday. Gabe and I have been trying to clean out the fridge so there will be room for all the food, which means I’m having a lunch of Triscuits, cream cheese, and salsa. Super gourmet, I know.

Right now I’m having fun dreaming up table settings before our big grocery run this evening. My favorite (and super cheap) way to dress up the table is to use scrapbook paper for placemats. It’s win-win: I don’t have to worry about wine spills on tablecloths, and the lovely natural wood table gets to shine. I’m thinking about adding texture by using a few loops of twine as napkin rings. Relaxed and fun!

Right now it’s sort of the calm before the storm. Ever since my first dinner as hostess last year, I’ve taken some cues from my Aunt Pat. Tip number one: make a list. I call this my “game plan” and it lays out everything I need to do right down to the minute. I might be a little crazy, but dinner is always on time. :)

What are your plans this Thanksgiving? Wishing all my friends and family members (both present and absent) a lovely holiday!

6 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Dinner Prep

  1. Hi Krista and Gabe Your table setting looks lovely. Very creative and unique. Yes, you have two fine teachers in your Mom and Pat for getting things done. Barb and I are going to Rick and Linda’s. I’m bringing sweet potato casserole and wine. Looking forward to being with them Happy Thanksgiving to you!! Much love!!!!!!!!! Grandma

  2. Your centerpiece is missing one small, glittery ball. I should know – Brynna found it in my bag! Oops!

Join the fun!

