Vanilla Frozen Greek Yogurt

Yesterday I looked up at the huge, colorful array of cookbooks sitting on the shelf above the kitchen sink and had a quick thought: do glass shelves have a weight limit?

Gabe replied that it looked like the glass was bowing in the middle, so I quickly removed the books before the shelf could come crashing down along with all our glassware and a 19th-century Hanukkiah. Yikes. Crisis averted.

Moving my cookbooks to a lower (and sturdier) shelf means they’re less likely to cause massive destruction and more likely to be perused on a daily basis. Win-win. I spend a lot of time looking at recipes online (and blogging about them, obviously), but nothing beats curling up with a book full of pretty pictures and elegant writing. So today I’m sharing a recipe from one of my favorite cookbooks: The Perfect Scoop, by David Lebovitz.

I like making fro-yo with Greek yogurt because it’s creamier and tangier. You can certainly substitute fat-free yogurt, but beware that the texture may be a little bit icy. I say go for the full-fat and just have a smaller bowl. :)

Vanilla Frozen Greek Yogurt | Lingonberry Jam

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Vanilla Frozen Greek Yogurt

  • 3 cups whole-milk plain Greek yogurt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, stir together the yogurt and sugar until completely dissolved. (The sugar will no longer feel grainy.) Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour, then freeze in your ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Makes about 1 quart.

Source: The Perfect Scoop

Nutrition facts (per 1/2 cup): 170 calories, 7.5 g fat, 21.0 g carbs, 5.3 g protein, 0 g fiber.

(Note: If using non-fat yogurt, a 1/2 cup serving contains about 60 fewer calories.)

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Frozen Greek Yogurt

  1. Thank you for this! I’ve got the yogurt chilling in the fridge as I type. ;-)

    I’m using Wallaby low fat Greek, and only 1/2 cup sugar (which is plenty for us). I also checked our library system and have put the book on hold. We make ice cream quite often, and although I like to come up with my own ideas/flavors/combos, I love cookbooks.

    Thanks again. :)

Join the fun!

