Garlic, Dill, and Chive Cream Cheese

I’m a weekend morning person. Monday through Friday, I’ll pull the covers over my head and pretend to be asleep while Gabe dutifully heads off to the gym, but come Saturday, I’m ready to wake up. There’s something so magical about getting up slowly– not at the request of an alarm clock– and padding into the kitchen to make a cup of coffee, knowing that I can stay in my pajamas all morning if I like. Quiet weekend mornings are totally my jam.

Last Saturday, in preparation for Gabe’s parents’ arrival from Los Angeles, we decided it was our duty to scope out the local bagel scene. So we woke up early, threw on some clothes, and headed outside. The pale morning sun hesitantly reached toward our backs as we walked hand-in-hand down a hushed Lyndale Avenue.

We ended up at Common Roots Cafe and sat down to a breakfast of iced lattes and fresh bagels. I topped my bagel with a tantalizing spread of garlic, dill, and chive cream cheese. The raw garlic zinged my tongue, energizing me as much as the sunlight now flooding the cafe. Gabe and I soaked up the simple food and quiet company, and waited for the rest of the world to wake and join us.

Garlic, Dill, and Chive Cream Cheese

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Garlic, Dill, and Chive Cream Cheese

  • 4 oz. cream cheese
  • 1 clove garlic, pressed
  • 1 tsp. fresh, chopped dill
  • 1 Tbs. fresh, minced chives
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Place the cream cheese in a small bowl and soften in the microwave by heating it on half power for 30 seconds. Remove from microwave and stir until smooth. Add the garlic, dill, and chives and stir until well combined. Add salt and pepper, if desired.

Source: Inspired by Common Roots Cafe.

Join the fun!

