Sweet ‘n’ Spicy Popcorn

I’m really not a fan of single-use kitchen items, but one appliance I adore is my air popper. I made popcorn on the stove for years, and despite gaining nicely toned arms (ha!), I hated the time and energy required to cook the popcorn and then clean up a greasy pot afterward.

Luckily my little sis rescued my aching arms by getting me an air popper for Christmas, along with adorable popcorn boxes. That’s the way we roll.

Besides the ease with which this baby pumps out popcorn (scaring the cat in the process), my favorite thing about owning a popcorn maker is that I can use the time previously spent slaving over the stove dreaming up popcorn toppings instead. (Poppings, if you will.)

And then within minutes I have a bowl full of sweet ‘n’ spicy popcorn, a perfect way to kick back after a hard day of work.

Sweet 'n' spicy popcorn

Sweet 'n' spicy popcorn

Sweet 'n' spicy popcorn

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Sweet ‘n’ Spicy Popcorn

  • 3 Tbs. butter
  • 1 Tbs. granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. cayenne (or just a pinch, if you like things with less of a kick)
  • 8-10 cups popped popcorn

Preheat oven to 200° F. In a small saucepan or microwave-safe bowl, melt butter. Stir in sugar, chili powder, cinnamon, salt, and cayenne until well-combined. Pour butter mixture over popcorn in a large bowl, and toss to combine. Spread onto a foil-lined baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes. Let cool slightly and serve.

Source: Adapted from Flo Burtnett at allrecipes.com.

4 thoughts on “Sweet ‘n’ Spicy Popcorn

    • Haha. When I first learned how to make kettle corn, I called Brynna all excited and said, “I never knew you could make kettle corn on the stove!” She goes, “Like… in a kettle?” :)

  1. Pingback: Tutti Frutti Popcorn (red, white & blue) | FamilyFreshCooking.com GREAT for July 4th! — Family Fresh Cooking

  2. Pingback: Marla Meridith | Tutti Frutti Popcorn

Join the fun!

