Watermelon, Mint, and Feta Salad

This post isn’t so much a recipe as it is a proclamation: Try weird things sometimes. It’s good for you.

I bought a quarter of a watermelon for the Fourth of July because a) it’s a holiday requirement, b) a whole watermelon would have been a lot to carry back from the grocery store, and c) I’m the only watermelon-eater in this household. Inspired by the rapidly expanding mint plant on my balcony, I threw together this watermelon salad with mint and feta. Salty cheese with juicy watermelon and refreshing mint? Now that’s different.

After a few deeply pondered bites, I declared to Gabe, “This is weird. But I like it.” And now that my watermelon salad is all gone, I’ve found myself craving the unusual but exciting combination of flavors it provided. This funny little dish made me even more excited to try new and “exotic” recipes. So there you have it: try weird things sometimes. It’s good for you.

Watermelon, mint, and feta salad

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Watermelon, Mint, and Feta Salad

  • 4 cups seeded, cubed, and chilled watermelon
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • 2 Tbs. fresh mint, coarsely chopped

Place watermelon in a medium bowl. Sprinkle with feta and mint, and stir to combine. That’s really all there is to it!

Source: Slightly adapted from Joy the Baker.

4 thoughts on “Watermelon, Mint, and Feta Salad

  1. I’ve had something very similar to this before, but I can’t remember if it had mint. I agree – it’s weird, but good!

  2. Pingback: BLT Panzanella | Lingonberry Jam

Join the fun!

