Cherry Sorbet

A couple weeks ago we helped a friend paint the walls of his brand-spanking-new condo. Every once in a while I have those “Wow, we’re all grown up now,” moments, and I think it hit me in a strange way while touring that condo. I was genuinely thrilled that Rob had purchased real estate (eek!), but as he showed us around his new place, I suddenly realized that the things I loved most were his ginormous, organized closet and side-by-side refrigerator/freezer.

Yep, I think that puts me firmly in the grownup camp.

I love our apartment, but I can’t stop thinking about that freezer. Imagine being able to store my ice cream maker permanently in the freezer instead of having to shift around piles of frozen veggies every time I wanted to make ice cream! I could have a steady stream of sorbets, fro-yos, and custards without having to plan 24 hours in advance!

On second thought, it’s probably a very good thing I don’t have that freezer.

P.S. I thought it was appropriate to share a sorbet recipe as temperatures climb near 100° this week and we all head to the Great Minnesota Get-Together. Stay cool and hydrated, everyone!

Cherry sorbet

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Cherry Sorbet

  • 2 lbs. bing cherries, pitted and stems removed
  • 1 cup water
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. vodka or kirsch

In a medium saucepan, stir together cherries, water, sugar, and lemon juice. Cook over medium heat until the cherries start releasing their juices, and then continue cooking for another 10-15 minutes, or until the cherries are very soft. Remove from heat and let cool to room temperature.

Stir in vodka and puree cherries in a blender until smooth (I use my stick blender so I don’t have to dirty another dish). Cover and chill for at least eight hours, and then freeze in your ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Makes approximately 1 quart.

Source: Very slightly adapted from The Perfect Scoop.

4 thoughts on “Cherry Sorbet

  1. Looks great! I’m so jealous you have an ice cream machine – Wish I had space for an ice cream machine – I just can’t justify it at the moment!

    • I have the ice cream maker attachment for my KitchenAid stand mixer. It’s great and doesn’t take up too much space at all! It just requires some advance planning because the bowl has to be frozen for at least 16 hours before making ice cream. :)

      • Ohh yes, I’ve seen that! Maybe I should… will have to look for a spot in the kitchen to squeeze it in. Maybe when it gets unbearably hot in summer in Australia :)

  2. Pingback: 6 sweet and guilty pleasures | Recipes Home

Join the fun!

