Peanut Butter Ice Cream

How the heck have I not made this before? I mean, really, searching the “frozen treats” section of this blog is kind of embarrassing. Ice cream flavors alone include chocolate, strawberry, Mississippi mud, coffee, cake batter, pumpkin, vanilla-chocolate swirl, seven layer bar, cookie dough, oatmeal chocolate chip cookie, and cookies ‘n’ cream. And then there’s fro-yo, sorbets, popsicles, and granitas.

And yet, I had never made straight-up peanut butter ice cream. Something was clearly wrong.

Despite the plethora of frozen treats on this blog, Gabe and I don’t actually eat sweets very often. So in order to make room for my ice cream maker in the freezer, I had to rearrange 3 lbs. of butternut squash ravioli, 2 lbs. of frozen pulled pork, a loaf of bread, a half dozen whole wheat muffins, and seven different kinds of frozen vegetables. The veggies showed their displeasure by flinging themselves at me whenever I opened the freezer door. Luckily it was all worth it, because this ice cream is divine.

If you’re one of those strange ducks who enjoys a peanut butter jelly sandwich (spoiler alert: I am not one of them), it would be pretty awesome to swirl some jam in the finished ice cream. But if you’re a purist like me, just grab a spoon and dig in.

Peanut butter ice cream

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Peanut Butter Ice Cream

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup natural creamy peanut butter (I used unsweetened, since there’s plenty of sugar in the ice cream)
  • 2 2/3 cups half and half (I used lactose-free whole milk, as usual)
  • a pinch of salt

Combine all ingredients in a blender and puree until smooth. Chill at least 8 hours, and then freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.

Source: The Perfect Scoop.

8 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Ice Cream

  1. Okay, let’s buy some of those mini chocolate-covered graham crackers, throw them into the mix & see what happens! :-)

  2. So…..your freezer is too full. I have a solution. My freezer has some extra space. So for a small, shall we say, handling and snacking fee, I would be more than willing to take some of the contents of your freezer and….ummm….store, yeah store them for you.

  3. Pingback: Honey Vanilla Ice Cream | Lingonberry Jam

    • Yum! I love that this recipe doesn’t require making an egg custard. It’s so easy, and quite possibly my favorite. Now can you imagine chocolate covered pretzels mixed in??

      • That’s exactly why I chose it! I actually have some chocolate covered pretzels from Trader Joe’s, so I was already planning on throwing some in the next batch. (In smaller pieces, of course.)

Join the fun!

