DIY Chocolate Syrup

I’m the strange sort of person who doesn’t really like chocolate ice cream. Despite this character flaw, I adore vanilla ice cream drizzled with chocolate syrup. I’ve even been known to stir the two together until I get a soft, milkshake-like consistency that looks suspiciously like chocolate ice cream. But it’s not. Because I don’t like chocolate ice cream.

I used to love those bottles of Hershey’s chocolate syrup, until I ruined them for myself by reading the ingredient labels one day. So now I make my own. I lovingly call this “dark chocolate syrup,” as it has a richer, more complex flavor while still retaining the key elements of its industrial cousin: namely viscosity, pourability, and shine. (I’m not really a food scientist; I’m making this up as I go along.)

Anyway, this is a fun recipe for food DIY-ers. With a handful of ingredients and 10 minutes, you can wow your friends and enemies (who are still friendly enough to be invited to your house) by topping some homemade ice cream with homemade chocolate sauce. Stir it together, or don’t. Either way it’s a beautiful thing.

DIY chocolate syrup

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

DIY Chocolate Syrup

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

In a medium saucepan, whisk together sugar and cocoa powder until you’ve broken up most of the clumps. Whisk in water and salt and place over medium heat. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Reduce heat to low and simmer for five minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat, stir in vanilla extract, and cool. Transfer to a bottle and store in the refrigerator.

Source: Slightly adapted from 52 Kitchen Adventures.

2 thoughts on “DIY Chocolate Syrup

  1. YUM! Looks pretty in those bowls,too. Of course, I love the fact that there appears to be one small tear-drop of chocolate syrup that appears to be “making-a-run-for-it” off the front of the bowl… :-)

Join the fun!

