Cranberry Vodka

Happy Valentine’s Day! Gabe and I have totally different schedules so I won’t see him until late tonight, but I did pack his lunch and included a sandwich in the shape of a heart. (Guess who I learned that from?)

Today’s recipe has me in good spirits. I used high quality vodka for this instead of the bug spray cheaper stuff I used for my homemade vanilla extract. Of course, the actual consumption will have to wait until the weekend, when a certain high school friend is paying us a visit. (That’s right, Sam. It’s on the blog; you can’t back out now.)

Happy V-day, everyone! Much love!

P.S. Credit goes to Gabe for the bug spray joke. He makes me giggle.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

 Cranberry Vodka

  • 1 1/3 cups cranberries
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 8 oz. vodka

Place cranberries, sugar and vanilla in a small saucepan. Place pan over medium heat and stir. Simmer cranberry mixture until the berries burst, about 5 to 6 minutes.

Pour mixture into a container and pour vodka on top. Refrigerate for 1-2 weeks. Strain out the cranberries and store cranberry vodka in the freezer.

To serve: Pour 2 ounces of vodka mixture over ice in a tall glass and top with tonic. Garnish with a slice of lime, if desired.

Source: Michael Chiarello via foodnetwork.com.

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Vodka

  1. Ah yes, but does Sam read your blog? I *do* believe that he likes vodka (see Christmas/New Year’s 2010) ;-) Happy Valentine’s Day to you & Gabe!! The vodka looks lovely!

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Ice Cream | Lingonberry Jam

Join the fun!